TFS: Trump Fatigue Syndrome

cropped-angry-trump2-banner.jpg
Trump will eat your soul in a taco bowl.

I think I’m suffering from TFS–that is, Trump Fatigue Syndrome. It’s now about six months into the Trump presidency and, considering all the craziness of his term so far, I’m a little surprised that I hadn’t succumbed to TFS earlier. On the 4th of July, Independence Day, I thought I’d declare independence from Trump. It was a nice break, but we have to return to the real world sooner or later and Trump isn’t going away until 2020 or he gets impeached, whichever comes sooner. We’ve gotta just deal with it. But dammit if it isn’t tiring.

It’s always one thing or another. Whether it’s the Trump family’s shady, tax-evading business practices, continuing revelations of the torrid love affair between Trump and Russia, or his continuing war against a free press, there is always something new to make me shake my head in disbelief and take refuge in the warm embrace of three fingers of scotch.

I’m sure Trump supporters are feeling it, too. I mean, their guy won, but Trump supporters seem to feed on fear and enmity. If it wasn’t for the “liberal media,” “fake news” or “radical Islam,” I think they’d melt away. They live for their fears. It defines them. They’ve now had six months of a right-wing circle jerk. I’m sure it takes a toll.

Meanwhile, there are immediate, prescient threats, like North Korea, to deal with and I have zero confidence in Trump’s ability to handle these threats with any sort of finesse. If you are one of those “preppers” with a bomb shelter and three years worth of Spaghettios stashed away, maybe you aren’t so crazy after all.

Maybe this was Trump’s plan all along: to just wear all of us down with a continuous assault of ridiculousness. Nah. It’s just Trump. I swear, no one would want to be his friend if he wasn’t rich (or the president). But I’m still pretty worn out from it all.

So I’m going to pace myself. I can’t comment on every stupid fucking thing that Trump does, nor do I feel that makes any difference. But I refuse to let Trump beat me into submission. And remember: while all this bullshit sensationalism is going on, there is a very real active investigation going on led by Special Counsel Robert Mueller, and these things take time. It won’t happen right away, but I have to believe that justice will prevail over the likes of short-fingered vulgarians like Trump.

Leave a Reply

